top of page

Taylor Bests Record Demolition Field in Back to School Smash!

Zac Taylor (#90) picked up one of the biggest Demolition paydays ever, as he bested a modern era record field estimated to be 67 cars in the grand finale at the Back to School Smash. Taylor made the final hit on points leader Mitch Brideau (#22) to capture the victory, with Ethan Walsh (#007) finishing third. For Taylor, the victory was worth a whopping $3000. Brideau’s stellar performance on the night capturing the Dash for Cash, Kidney Race, and the Figure 8 Race – a showing which will give him a healthy point lead heading into the championship Demo.

The finale was slated to be a 100-lap Enduro, but early on severe dust from cars spinning into the infield resulted in zero visibility, creating highly dangerous conditions. With conditions deteriorating and drivers racing at high speeds, the tough decision was made to scrap the Enduro in favor of a Demolition finale for the safety of the drivers.

Amber Sickles (#03A) was the winner of the Powder Puff race, holding of Monique Benoit who was driving for Mitch Brideau.

JR Lawson picked up a big win, trophy, and payday in the Mini Stock Classic, which extended his win streak at Speedway Miramichi to 11 races. Mathieu Mallet (#80) finished runner up to Lawson after keeping him honest throughout much of the 81-lap feature. Lawson and Mallet were the only cars left on the lead lap, with Chantel Ackles (#30) narrowly holding off Guy Basque (#27) despite engine issues to claim the final podium position. Conrad Murphy (#89) rounded out the top 5. Only a pair of cautions slowed the main event, with Lawson and Poirier taking heat victories.

Defending Miramichi Modified champion Joe Hoyt (#17) made a statement leading nearly every lap and holding off all challengers to capture the victory in the Atlantic Modified Tour Fairley’s Sports Bar 35. Kevin Bailey (#2) recovered from a spin while challenging for the lead to edge out local driver Travis Conroy (#7) for second. Braxton Stafford (#91) and Zean Dutcher (#55) rounded out the top 5. Hoyt and Chris Wilson (#2W) took home heat race victories.

The race was slowed by 3 cautions – two of which were the result of rocks and dirt on the track due to single car spins by Steven Curtis (#12) and Kevin Bailey. The final caution occurred with just 7 laps remaining and was incident which collected Yves McCray (#58) and Chris Wilson as they battled for a podium position.

For Hoyt, the victory is his first of the season, and the fifth of his career at Speedway Miramichi. Hoyt now joins Doug Matchett and Brandon Skidmore on top of the list of winningest drivers in Miramichi, with each driver having 5 victories to their name. Eleven Modifieds were in attendance.

Alex Sheehan (#06) made the trip from PEI to shake down for October’s 100 lapper and it paid off, as he won his heat race and then backed it up with a victory in the 35-lap Street Stock feature. Sheehan made the pass for the lead on Darcy O’Neill (#68) just prior to the halfway point of the race. O’Neill held on for second, while visiting driver Tristin Harris (#7) earned his first career podium finish with a third-place run. Tom Nichols (#28) and Bryar Ellis (#95) rounded out the top 5.

For Sheehan, the win was the second of his career at the North Shore oval. With his performance, Darcy O’Neill should assume the points lead in the Street Stock division. Eight Street Stocks were on hand for the race.

Johnathan Dickson (#3) finally had a monumental moment, as the long-time driver earned his first career feature victory of any sort taking the victory in the 35-lap Bomber feature. Dickson dominated taking the lead from Ben Jardine (#76) on lap 3 and driving away to take the victory. Several drivers attempted to challenge Dickson, but all attempts failed. Points leader Adam Plourde (#52) would finish second, while Mike Burns took home third in a wild couple of laps as drivers battled for a podium position. Jordan Campbell (#68) and Ben Jardine (#76) rounded out the top 5. Kevin Tucker (#87) and Samantha Blakely (#69) picked up heat race wins.

Three cautions slowed the 35-lap feature. The first caution came when Adam Plourde (#52) spun in turn 3 and collected Jacob Smith (#29) on lap 14. The final caution came with 4 laps to go for a chain reaction incident which collected Riley Harris (#1). Thirteen cars were in attendance.

The burnout competition was one for the books, with a fourteen year old receiving one of the loudest applauses in burnout competition history – and deservedly so – to take the win.

The next event at Speedway Miramichi is October 3rd with The Very Best Fall Shootout and Demolition Blowout. This will be the championship event at the speedway, highlighted by a 100-lap Street Stock race, 50-lap Mini Stock race, Bomber racing, the Atlantic Modified Tour finale, and the championship Demo! More information on that event will be coming soon.

In the meantime, stay tuned to Speedway Miramichi Inc. on Facebook as well as our website at for more!

Back to School Smash

1. Zac Taylor #90

2. Mitch Brideau #22

3. Ethan Walsh #007

4. Lionel Breau #028

5. Nicholas Chaisson #32

Mini Stock Classic 81 Lap Feature

1. JR Lawson #81

2. Mathieu Mallet #80

3. Chantel Ackles #30

4. Guy Basque #27

5. Conrad Murphy #89

6. Mitchell Poirier #28

7. Calvin McLeod #00

8. Grayson Dutcher #55

9. Tom Ackles #30

10. Rob Poirier #0

Atlantic Modified Tour Fairley’s Sports Bar 35

1. Joe Hoyt #17

2. Kevin Bailey #2

3. Travis Conroy #7

4. Braxton Stafford #91

5. Zean Dutcher #55

6. Brandon Skidmore #84

7. Yves McCray #58

8. Kim Hallihan #97

9. Chris Wilson #2W

10. Steven Curtis #12

11. Tyson Donovan #63

Street Stock 35 Lap Feature

1. Alex Sheehan #06

2. Darcy O’Neill #68

3. Tristin Harris #7

4. Tom Nichols #28

5. Bryar Ellis #95

6. Robert Legere #04

7. Jamie Jardine #10

DNS – JR Lawson #81

Bomber 35 Lap Feature

1. Johnathan Dickson #3

2. Adam Plourde #52

3. Mike Burns #28

4. Jordan Campbell #68

5. Ben Jardine #76

6. Samantha Blakely #69

7. Jacob Smith #29

8. Riley Harris #1

9. Casey Munn #8

10. Kevin Tucker #87

11. Dawson Cripps #25

12. Mark Kingston #97

13. Blake Bransfield #60

Dash for Cash – Mitch Brideau #22

Powder Puff – Amber Sickles #03A

Kidney Race – Mitch Brideau #22

Figure 8 Race – Mitch Brideau #22



bottom of page